Being Positively Positive

 

 

As you watch the nightly news from Haiti, do you feel anger, sadness, a sense of futility?  Or do you feel overwhelmed by the generosity of countries sending doctors, aid workers, heavy equipment.  Happy that people are being saved, neighborhoods are being reached and survivors being fed.

It’s something I’ve always wondered.  What makes someone default to either a positive or a negative attitude? 

We all have a choice every day when we rise from slumber.  We can choose to embrace the day and make it a positive one.  Smile instead of frown, compliment instead of put down, whistle instead of grumble, help someone else instead of worrying about our own problems. 

There is a statistical information that says that being positive actually improves your life.  Some of the health benefits of positive thinking include:

  • Increased life span
  • Greater resistance to the common cold
  • Reduced risk of death due to cardiovascular disease
  • Better coping skills in times of stress

How can you be more positive today?  What does being around positive people do for your mood?

3 responses to “Being Positively Positive

  1. Mike how timely to see this “tweet”. I have been thinking much about this. You always hear how stress kills, then it just makes sense that the opposite ( positive thinking ) would have the opposite effect, right. I see it in the people who have faith a true strong faith. ( I say true because I have done my share of time in church & have seen the hypocrites ). I do believe in the power of positive thinking. I need to put it into practice much more in my life & I will. What better time for us to make an effort to be more positive than in a new year! Wish you the best, very nice blog by the way.

    • Brian, thanks for your comments. I think you’re right about the correlation between faith and being positive. I know that I feel better, in general, than some of my friends who are always negative, but I find it difficult not to get Polly Anna-esque with my positivity so that it annoys people.

  2. I know that I would much rather hang out with someone who “thinks positive” than one who is always down. Together we create ideas, solve problems, and plain old just have more fun!

Leave a Reply

