Do These Pom Poms Make Me Look Fat?

 

Recently I had the chance to actually meet a woman who I had friended on Facebook and followed on Twitter.  Her name is Wendy Blomseth and she is the owner of Inbeaute (say In Beauty) Photography in St. Paul.  Wendy is a high energy woman and I feel almost lazy in her presence.  Today she posted something interesting on her Facebook page, in the wake of the Vikings loss to New Orleans last night.

The gist of the post was this: Why not make our own team?  The Facebook Team.  As a part of this team, each of us would redirect our positive energy to each other.  I cheer for Wendy and she cheers for me.  We introduce our friends, fans, customers and family members to her, she does the same for us.

What if we could focus all of our positive energy to promote someone else?  And since positive energy begets positive energy, those that we promote could promote us.  If any of you have read my blog or know me, you know that if nothing else, I am cheap (I prefer frugal, but cheap is probably more accurate) when it comes to advertising.  This is the best type of advertising.  Cross promotion between professionals is very, um, cost-effective (yes, I spend a lot of time thinking of different words for cheap).

I’ve already told you a little about Wendy; she is a woman with more energy and kindness and knowledge in her little finger than I have in my whole body.  And don’t even get me started on her photographic ability.  The website is linked above.  Take a look for yourselves.

How about Tim Nelson?  Here is a guy, like so many others today, knocked down by the economy.  Does he let that keep him down?  No!  Tim formed his own company called “Who Ya Wearing Today?” .  The concept is simple enough; send him your company T-shirt and he will wear it,: photograph himself wearing it and post it on Flickr, video himself wearing your shirt and post it on YouTube.  Tim will blog about your business, Tweet about your business and Update his status about your business.  For one day, or as many as you buy, it’s all about your business.  What a great idea!

In the future, I would like to use this space ( not always, but sometimes) to cheer for some people I know who make a positive difference or inspire me.

Who would you like to cheer for?

Leave a Reply

