Prayer and the Cleaner Part II

Let me just say, it was never my intention to make this blog about religion.  For the most part, I think I have avoided being the guy in the clown wig holding the John 3:16 sign up at nationally televised sporting events.   For those of you too young to remember, his name is Rollen Stewart.  This blog was meant to be about a lot of things, business, marketing, social media, networking and cleaning.  Not religion.

Nonetheless, one of my first blogs was about prayer.  Today, I am compelled to share another story of prayer with you.  Hopefully you will be inspired or at least smile.

The other day I was pretty low, and for those of you that know me or who have read my blog, you know I try to be a pretty positive, upbeat guy.  But this day I was low.  I was Mr. Negativity.  After bleeding clients all summer and into the fall, we hadn’t landed a new client in months and this was supposed to be the year we grew (I know, I know, it’s only the first month, but have you ever tried arguing with someone that wants to be crabby?).  We had done some networking, and met some pretty fantastic folks, but nothing was really coming out of it.  I was all over social media, to no real avail except I got to meet some amazing peers.  Service Magic was a waste of time.  It didn’t matter how fast I called the lead back.  I was charged and was not hearing back from the potential clients. 

Yup, I was in a pretty dark place.  I fretted and stewed.  I pouted.  I gave my wife the silent treatment.  Like it was her fault.  It wasn’t. I was a big ol’ failure.  

As I got dressed for work, I got down on my knees and prayed to God for some glimmer.  Some sign.  Some hope or positivity.  And I left for work mad at the world.  Thirty minutes into the drive the phone rang.  It was an amazing woman we had met through a mutual friend.  Her name is Wendy Blomseth and she is a fantastic photographer.  We met her in person for the first time at a Social Media Networking event a week before.  I was still mad.  And driving.  I was not going to answer the phone.  As it turns out, she wanted more information on our company so she could accurately refer us to people.  A few minutes later, the phone rang again.  It was a lead from Service Magic that we had tried to contact the day before, but ended up leaving a voicemail.  We had figured we wouldn’t hear from them.  He wanted to set up an estimate.  My wife laid out a card for me that afternoon.  It said that she would be strong for me.

The next morning, as I was doing my normal Facebbok-ing and Twitter-ing, Lisa Metwaly posted a note on my wall.  For those of you that don’t know Lisa, she is the co-owner of the Q Kindness Cafe in downtown St. Paul.  The note that she posted simply read, “What do you need today?”  Feeling selfish, I wrote back, “More customers”.  Within minutes she had posted a note for all the world to read on her wall promoting our business.

Neither Wendy or Lisa or even my wife had any idea what I was feeling that day.  None of them could have known what was in my heart.  Yet, moments after reaching out in prayer, my prayers were answered by many people.  I didn’t ask for money or even more business.  I simply asked for a little hope, some little sign that things were going to be ok, some positivity, if you will. 

I have said this before and I will say it again; I am not out to save anyone.  I am not trying to be another Rollen Stewart.  I just thought that you might like to know that prayer works.  Whomever you pray to, He, She or It is listening and can work little miracles in your life, if you are open to seeing them.

2 responses to “Prayer and the Cleaner Part II

  1. Mike,

    I forwarded this post to a friend whose husband is also trying to get his business (insurance) to grow. She replied with a nice thank you saying this was the kind of message she needed to hear this week. Thanks for letting me help you pay that inspiration forward!

    Jennifer

  2. What I love most about getting to know you and all you stand for, believe in and have passion for…there are no lines with you. You are ALL of who you are. Thank you for not limiting what your blog can be…because complete, real people are who I believe true inspiration comes from…Thanks for being a friend!

    Thanks so much for the constant encouragement!!!

Leave a Reply

