Possibilities

Whenever I sit down to write and I can’t think of anything, I always start with a question; is it possible?  For example, is it possible that yesterday’s blog is the worst waste of words on a computer screen ever?  That remains to be seen.

Is it possible?  If we are to believe our parents, anything is possible.  I firmly believe this to be true.  If you had asked my mother when I was a child whether her son would grow up to own and run a cleaning service, she would have laughed first, but then said, “Anything’s possible”.  And here I am.  Granted, it’s taken me decades to achieve, but the possibility was always there and it has become reality. 

 

I believe that anything you want to do, want to be, want to happen in life is truly possible.  Given that, what are you willing to do to get whatever it is that you want?  If you have a passion, a burning desire, an all-encompassing  need for something, I truly believe that it is possible to have that, but you have to be willing to do whatever it takes to get it. 

If I want a peanut butter sandwich, I have to get off my lazy butt and make it.  Is it possible to have a peanut butter sandwich?  Absolutely!  But, what am I willing to do to make that happen?   If I say, “I want to own the biggest residential cleaning service in Minnesota”, I have to be willing to do the work to accomplish that.  I have to be driven to work 24/7, harder, better than anyone else in the business to make that happen.  Without that commitment, then nothing is possible. 

Each of us has, within us, the strength and skills to make whatever we want out of our lives, if we’re willing to do the work it takes to get there.  What do you want out of life?  What are you waiting for?

To answer the initial question I asked about yesterday’s blog being the worst ever written, I would have to say, I doubt it.  Not because I am that arrogant, but because I am still writing and anything is possible.

2 responses to “Possibilities

  1. Mike, You must be a great parent! The subject of your blog…anything is possible OR you can do or be anything you want to be. My parents said this over and over when I was a child. I still believe it! It was the greatest gift they ever gave me.

  2. Maggie, thank you, as always for your kind and thoughtful comments. The possibility that I am a great parent remains to be proven.
    The only thing that ever stopped me from doing what I dreamed for myself was myself. I remember being a child oif the sixties and seventies and wanting to be an astronuat. Then I found out you had to be good at math and science. I simply did not have the desire to work hard enough at those skills to become what I wanted.
    Which is probably for the best, because if I had become an astronaut, I probably would never had the opportunity to meet an inspiring person like yourself. I feel another blog coming on. : )
    Have a great day, Maggie!

Leave a Reply

