The Company You Keep

Whom do you choose to surround yourself with or what people inspire you?  I was thinking about this the other day as I was reviewing my Facebook friends.  I realized that most of the people I had friended were well-respected business people, a few neighbors and some old high school people who I may or may not remember being friends with.  But what jumped out at me was that by and large, most of the people I have friended were very positive, inspiring people.  Let me introduce you to some people who keep me inspired and positive.

Lisa Metwaly.  Lisa is the co-owner of the Q Kindness Cafe.  I have only met Lisa once, but consider her to be a major source of inspiration to be a better person.  Her business, as you might guess, is all about bringing a little more kindness to the world and serving up good food.  You can learn more about Lisa and the Q Kindness Cafe by watching this video by WCCO reporter Mike Binkley.  If you are on Facebook you can be inspired every day by becoming a fan of The Q Kindness Cafe.

Debbie Sardone.  Debbie and I have something in common; we are both in the residential cleaning business.  But that is where the similarities end.  I have never met Debbie, just spoken with her over the phone, but her reputation preceded her.  Debbie wanted to help women who are undergoing treatment for cancer by providing them with free housecleaning services.  She took the job that she knew best and found a way to help others with it.  Thus was born Cleaning for a Reason.  They are a national 501(c) non-profit foundation with “partners” in all 50 States as well as Canada.  The partners are local maid service companies that agree to clean for a minimum of two cancer patients per month for four months and to do these cleanings for free.  We are honored to be one of only eight cleaning service companies in the Twin Cities to be partnered with Cleaning for a Reason.  Words cannot express the feeling you get from serving someone who is battling cancer. 

Another person I have recently friended on Facebook is Julie McClaren.  Julie works tirelessly for The Dinner Garden.  Sounds like another restaurant, but it’s not.  The Dinner Garden is a 501 (c) (3) non-profit run by Holly and Sean Hirshberg.  The idea is simple; provide free seeds to people to grow their own gardens and provide their own food.  It’s an ambitious plan, but one that makes sense.  It’s the old “Give a man a fish and you fee him for a day, teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime” idea ( I must claim ignorance, here.  I did not realize that was a Chinese proverb.  Always learning!).  Anyway, Julie is a ray of sunshine, always positive and always working to increase awareness of this amazing program.

That’s three of many.  My life is enriched by the many people I have been blessed to come in contact with, from my wife who is always encouraging me to the faces on my computer screen who I have never met, but inspire me nonetheless.

So, here is my question to you:  Who inspires you, who makes you want to be a better person? 

One response to “The Company You Keep

  1. You are an inspiration to me! You always have such thought provoking blogs. They make me really think. You’re kind, positive, and always willing to help others. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

