Dirt: I Love It

 

Dirt.  I love it.  Perhaps I was destined to be a cleaning service owner.  Maybe, years ago as a lad playing in the dirt of my hometown in Montana, it was decided.  God looked down from above and said, “Man, this guy loves dirt.  Cleaning is what he was made for.”  Ok, probably not, but it makes me smile to think that it went down that way.

Last summer, I worked on a project in our yard.  I’m sure my wife considers it the never-ending-project.  It’s a fire pit that after two years is still not complete in my mind.  I had a blast digging and setting stone and leveling and setting some more stone.  It was back-breaking work in the heat and I couldn’t have been more satisfied.  That’s where the picture above came from.  Look at the smile on my face.  I was as happy as a pig in you-know-what.

Similarly, I love a good cleaning challenge.   If we are charged to clean out an apartment or a home that has been abandoned, I’m in heaven!  Things that would turn the ordinary person’s stomach; garbage complete with maggots, a shower or tub that hasn’t been cleaned in years, a refrigerator with rotting food (have you ever seen what happens to lettuce when it’s left for enough time?  It liquefies!).  All of these things, set me on fire with energy.  It’s a personal challenge to bring that tub, that place back to livability. 

I believe that we all are given an opportunity to do what we were made for.  Sometimes, though, we miss the chance.  Sometimes we don’t recognize it.  Sometimes, we stumble upon it by sheer coincidence.  I have done a lot of things in my life.  I re-fueled airplanes in flight for the Air Force.  I have been a sales person for a mortgage company, I have been a customer service rep for a hair care manufacturing company.  But nothing gives me more pleasure than my current job.  Cleaning homes and owning a cleaning business.  I happened on it by chance and have discovered what I believe I was made for.  It took forty some-odd years to figure it out. 

Are you doing what you love and loving what you do?  If not, it’s not too late.  Find what you love to do and go do it.  With faith, and not a little sweat, you can be what you were meant to be.

What do you want to be when you “grow up”?

One response to “Dirt: I Love It

  1. Pingback: Who Else is Blogging? « Nothing Beats a Sponge

Leave a Reply

