Virtual Friends, Real-Life Influences

I was thinking yesterday about social media.  I started thinking about all the people I have come to “know” but have never met all because of social media.

When I started Freedom Cleaning Services almost five years ago, I figured we were going this alone.  I knew nobody else in this industry.  There were forums and such, and you could bounce ideas off of faceless words in a thread.  But there was no real connection. 

Two and a half years ago I figured out we should be more involved in social media.  Yes, it was a way of making our brand more visible, but it has turned into a series of connections with people who do the same thing I do.  Some are in the same local area as I am, some are flung as far away as Florida and California.  And yet, I would have never had these connections if I hadn’t reached out and made them. 

I keep thinking back to a blog post by Robyn Flach.  Here is a world-renowned writer of a book on social media, helping out someone he has never met, thousands of miles away, because it was the right thing to do.  This act would have been difficult, at best, ten to fifteen years ago. 

Because of places like Twitter and Facebook, I have had the opportunity to connect with people who have helped me be a better business person.  People like Steve and Jean Hanson from the Janitorial Store and MyHouseCleaningBiz.com, respectively.  People like Perry Phillips of Home Cleaner Magazine .  I have been able to interact with people like Pamela Muldoon who help me to understand that social media can be an amazing tool for business.  People like Robyn Flach, who make me realize that social media is not always about enhancing my brand, but it’s also about being a better person.

Who have you “met” that has enhanced your life, your business, because you are able to connect with people you never would have known existed ten years ago?

One response to “Virtual Friends, Real-Life Influences

  1. Isn’t it funny how you get to “know” each other via social media, even though you have never met in person? You feel like you know each other, but have never actually met face to face.

    The wonders of the internet.

    Mike, you and Mardi have both enhanced my life. Sometimes it’s the cleaning thing, having support when my business is going thru a rough time, and having a cheerleader beside me when things are great. It’s all about support. That alone is uplifting.

    And of course the dogs. There is a connection there too. Sharing the shenanigans and funny moments.

    I could name a LOT of people who have enhanced my life and my business. People I have never met in person, but who have given me great advice and support over the years. Not only professionally, but personally.

    Great blog! Social media is very interesting, indeed. I feel like some of my best friends are people I have never met in person.

Leave a Reply

