Just a Little Longer, Please.

I admit it.  Secretly, unless you are a member of my family, I love Christmas starting early.  When nobody else is with me in the vehicle, I tune the radio to the station that plays Christmas music around November 5th. 

Go ahead; roll your eyes.  “It’s too early.”, you’ll say.  “I don’t need any more stress in my life.  At least not a month earlier than it has to be.”  Stress, my friend is where you allow it to be.  I’ve got plenty of time to shop and I know that.  I tune out the ads telling me to hurry, rush right in and other action-imploring things. 

For me, this season is all about hope and peace and joy.  I love the smell of a real Christmas tree.  It reminds me of a simpler, happier time with less stress. I like seeing a menorah in a window.  I love the sight of strings upon strings of brightly colored lights.  Each twinkling light, to me, is a sign of hope in a world sometimes seemingly devoid of hope.

 

At what other time of the year is everyone’s home so filled with the scent of cookies or other treats baking?  When else is it appropriate to see, or better yet participate in, the act of strolling through your neighborhood singing to your friends without the police being called?

Call me naive, call me a dreamer, call me the anti-Scrooge.  Is there anything wrong with wanting a little more joy, a little more happiness in the world?

So forgive me if I would like this time of year to last just a little bit longer.

One response to “Just a Little Longer, Please.

  1. I so agree with you! I think you very adequately described the first Christmas! The anticipation of Something Wonderful. Peace. Joy. Hope. To me, the more lights that go up at Christmas signifies the more hope people feel. Everything about this Season should be savored and enjoyed. I try not to watch the commercials at Christmas; I hate the unending materialistic approach to this Holy Holiday.

    Instead I prefer to watch the corny old movies like “It’s A Wonderful Life” and “Miracle on 34th St.” I love the family cookie bake and sharing those cookies with others. I love the decorating. I love doing Christmas cards. I love getting together with family and friends. I love the anticipation of Something Wonderful.

Leave a Reply

