Ask and Ye Shall Receive

Earlier today I posted something on my Facebook wall about not being proud and asking for help when you need it.  A very wise young lady whom I have known for years made the comment that this was particularly hard for her because she doesn’t like to ask for help.

I think a lot of us are in that same position every once in a while.  The reasons we use for not asking are many, but usually boil down to pride.   We don’t want our friends or family or peers to know that we need help.  Because if we need help, then that makes us weak or stupid or both, right?  Wrong!

Almost five years ago, I started a cleaning business.  I had never owned one before, but I knew I knew how to clean.  I did not attend college because I was a poor student in High School and figured my bad habits would simply follow me through life.  So I had some cleaning products, and a car.  I knew enough to make business cards.  I had no idea how to get customers.  I had no idea what “green cleaning” was and I had no idea how to create (or even if I needed to) a website.  I had never even heard of social media, much less Facebook or Twitter.

I came to that point that we all come to now and again.   I recognized that I didn’t know anything about these things and if I wanted my business to succeed, I needed to.  I swallowed my pride and I started posting questions on forums for cleaning service owners.  Nobody laughed at me.  Nobody said, “What are you?  Some kind of idiot?”  They were helpful and offered advice and honest (but not mean) critiques, when necessary.

Granted, it’s harder when it’s family you need to ask, but the same rule applies.  You have a choice.  You can ask for help and move on, or you can try to fake/wallow your way through.  How do I know this, you might ask?  I know this because I have limited tech savvy and two teenagers in the house.  Nuff said.

Leave a Reply

