Expectations

I know.  It’s been a long time since I’ve blogged.  I have found a lot o f things to keep me busy, lately. 

For one thing, I’ve started another business.  Raven Design is my own design studio where I can help other small businesses create advertising.  It really fuels my creative spirit.  Not sure what that means, exactly, but it sounds artsy-fartsy, doesn’t it?

I’ve also been vlogging a lot.  Isn’t that what it’s called when one commits a blog to video?  Those are all posted to our Youtube channel.

Recently we have had several customers who have, how do I put this diplomatically, challenged my easy-going business nature.  Look, I don’t mean to complain, but there is something I need to get off my chest.

We agreed to come to your home, at no cost or obligation to you.  We had you show us through your home, describing the things that were important to you to get cleaned.  We agreed and told you if there would be an additional charge or not.  We worked out a competitive price, which is no mean feat in this economy I might add, and you agreed to it.  We put you on our calendar and scheduled your first cleaning.

So, please tell me why you decided two days before we come out to ask if we would do three or four things that we never discussed, were not on the list of things that we do and want them done for free?  “Thanks for the reminder that you’re coming on Tuesday, Mike.  By the way, could you please also take out all the trash, dust all the blinds and wash the windows while you’re here?”

The short answer to that question is, no.  The reason is this will require extra time and effort on our team’s part and when we quoted you a price, those things were not taken into account.

We appreciate that everyone is trying to get as much value as possible from every penny spent, but when you mention these extra things just before the cleaning or, worse yet, while we’re standing in your living room on the day of the cleaning,  frankly it sounds like you’re trying to get something for nothing, figuring we wouldn’t dare say no right then and there.  Most times you are correct, but it’s going to leave a bad taste in my mouth for a while.  If you want to know if we will clean something, ask at the time of the walk-through.  We will be happy to let you know if we will dust Uncle Igor’s urn (sure, no charge!).

We value each and every customer we have.  We wouldn’t still be here five years later if we didn’t.  But please, please don’t take advantage of that value that we place on you.

Ok that’s off my chest.  Thanks for letting me vent.  Now I have to get back to work.

5 responses to “Expectations

  1. Mike, I share your pain, it’s never easy to deal with the public, but when something happens like this I go back and add those items to my duty list. We do take out the trash and dust top to bottom including window blinds, but window cleaning is a seperate job and has to be scheduled seperately. Then they will say only clean the inside and if we do that they will call the next day a complain that the windows are still dirty, so I have to go over and show them that the dirt is on the outside. We only clean the entire windows inside, out, the tracks,frames and inside window sills. Then if they call it will be a legitimate complaint and we will reclean if needed.

    I hope your feeling better.

  2. Ah Mike, we are not even in residential cleaning and I feel your pain. Why can’t people just be fair. Pay a fair price for good service. “Do onto others….”. Right? It really is a shame. There are some really good people out there, but also some bad apples. The bad ones can make for a frustrating week and add to our stress. Thanks for the blog, many of us can relate.

  3. Oh, yes feel your pain. I think about throwing in the towel at least every other day because I am such a people pleaser and this business is stretching me to my absolute limit these days. As I write this I am re-evaluating my entire business structure to see if it’s even worth it anymore. Hey, if I close down… I at least know who to send my clients to! 🙂

    • Lisa, it would be a shame to lose you and your business. The Twin Cities can only benefit from having a quality, professional cleaning business like yours here and I would be deeply saddened on a personal and professional level if you chose that path. Stick with it!

  4. I hear you Mike, It’s not easy to deal at times and some people will take advantage if we let them. I’m willing to bet they don’t even realize that is what they are doing!
    Thanks for posting!

Leave a Reply

